We use cookies to give you the best experience. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our policy. Read more about how we use cookies and find out how you can change your browser's cookie setting
Skip to content
Please donate

Scotland's Protection Levels (or Tiers)

Find out what it all means

From Tuesday 5th January, mainland Scotland is in a lockdown, which goes further than level 4 restrictions. You can read more details in the lockdown section below.

Like other places in the UK, Scotland has adopted COVID-19 protection levels (sometimes known as tiers or tier system) which set out measures that can be applied nationally or locally depending on the prevalence of the virus across Scotland.

Each Local Authority in Scotland has a COVID-19 protection level. There are 5 different levels starting from 0 to 4. The lowest level is 0 and the highest level is 4.

What are the measures in each protection level? 

Postcode checker

Use the Scottish Government's postcode checker to find out what the Protection Level is where you live

Remember FACTS

Where can I get more information?

You can call Age Scotland's helpline on 0800 12 44 222 Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm for free information, friendship, and advice.

The below websites also have useful information and advice:

Become part of our story

Sign up to our email newsletter

Back to top